The government offers ten airports to manage by two state-owned airport operator PT Angkasa Pura I (AP I) and PT Angkasa Pura II (AP II). The airports would be located in Lampung, Central Sulawesi, Southeast Sulawesi, East Nusa Tenggara, Central Kalimantan, Bangka Belitung and North Sumatra. The ten airports offered with the cooperation between government and business entity or public private partnership.

Government plans to build 10 new airports to support the 10 priority tourism destinations set up by tourism ministry. As the home of more than 17,000 islands, Indonesia faces a lack of adequate infrastructure to facilitate access to tourism destinations.