Government has picked the winner of four oil and gas blocks that will be operated by production sharing contractors (PSC) under the scheme of gross split. The gross split scheme has been applied by the government since January 2017 as the alternative to the cost recovery scheme already applied for other oil and gas contracts since the 1960s.

Energy and Mineral Resources (EMR) Minister Ignasius Jonan said that the four blocks, namely East Kanal Block, East Seram Block, Citarum Block, and Southeast Jambi block, are part of the seven blocks recently tendered by the government with a direct bidding system. He explained the four winners of the four blocks’ tenders, with a  total committed investment of US$44.65 million and the signing bonus of $3.25 million.